Home  >  Learning & Development  >  Curriculum

Preparing them for the world which waits

When planning and guiding children’s activities, practitioners will reflect on the different ways that children learn, and this will reflect in their practice. The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is a play-based curriculum that encourages practitioners to support children’s learning and development by providing stimulating and exciting opportunities and environments to enable children to explore.

The EYFS comprises of 7 areas of learning with the addition of the Characteristics of Effective learning, which together forms the basis of the curriculum.

The 3 Prime Areas:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

The 4 Specific Areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

The Characteristics of Effective Learning are an integral part of children’s learning and these are defined in 3 areas:


Playing and Exploring – Children investigate and experience things, and ‘have a go’


Active Learning – Children concentrate and keep trying if they encounter difficulties, and enjoy achievements


Creating and Thinking Critically – Children have and develop their own ideas, make links between ideas, and develop strategies for doing things.


All areas of learning and development are important and are inter-connected to ignite children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, form relationships and thrive.

Want to see how your little one could fit into one of our wonderful nurseries? Have an explore, we have lots of information about each location and virtual tours available online.

Looking to learn more about our nurseries and discuss your child’s care? 

Submit the below form and someone will get back to you very shortly.